Look what puppy Yardlea and I found! Self help books! I know she’s just going to chew them. And everyone says I’m the one with the problem behavior? |
Yesterday, during one of our many training sessions, my foster mom was working on some basic good manners stuff with me. You know the drill: heel, sit, come, sit, down, stand, down, stand, sit, stay, etc. Kind of boring for a clever and busy guy like me who would rather be jumping or learning weave poles or running up and down the A-frame, but I suppose I can see where that’s all necessary. Anyway, we were alone in the training school, I had her and the treats all to myself, and I'll admit I was having fun.
It was getting close to the time when other dogs would start arriving for classes, and my foster mom wanted to see if I had made any progress in how I react to them, so we kept working until the first student arrived.
The bad news is that when a quiet, mature, unsuspecting and good looking Cavalier came in the door, I still reacted badly - very badly. Yikes. Was I a jerk! Boing. Bark. Boing. Bark. Yap! Yap! Yap! That obviously refined gentleman of a dog (his name is Cooper, I was told) must have thought I was a total sheltie maniac. Double yikes!
The good news, however, is that my frantic and frenetic behavior, which we've established I just can't help yet, didn't last quite as long as it has in the past, and in between my outbursts I did tune into my foster mom and do some sits and some really bouncy, animated heeling. I even played with a toy briefly and responded to her call to come! Hallelujah! Also, my foster mom noticed that my initial aggressive-looking behavior quickly changed to excited "I have to meet you and play with you" behavior, even though I continued to jump four feet straight up in the air at the entrance gate. My foster mom, bless her heart, says that that’s progress - a little anyway - so I guess that’s good. One thing I know for sure is that behaving well is a LOT of work. I hope I get it soon!
